Luis Suarez named Football Writers Player of the Year

Follow @footyscene1

The Football Writers’ Association have chosen Liverpool striker Luis Suarez as the Footballer of the Year. This award becomes the second personal honour of the season for the Uruguayan striker after he was voted the Professional Footballers’ Association Player of the Year last month.

Suarez has had an incredible season for the Reds after returning from a 10 match ban for biting Chelsea defender Branislav Ivanovic last season. After missing the first 6 matches of the season Suarez has plundered 37 goals in 44 appearances for Liverpool this season which is an incredible return and has made a huge contribution to Liverpool’s on-going title challenge this season.

Speaking to Sky Sports FWA chairman and journalist Andy Dunn said

“Luis is a remarkably gifted addition to the long and distinguished list of winners of our award.

“There was a groundswell of support for him last season but our voting opened 12 hours after the biting incident at Anfield, so I think that was taken into account then.

“I must stress that the football writers take into account the player’s behaviour – the original citation for the FWA award back in 1947-48 mentioned ‘precept and example’, so that is taken into account.

“While no-one would say Suarez is whiter than white, you would have to say his behaviour all throughout the season has been very good and I think the football writers have taken that into account – an element of redemption if you like – and allied with those 30 goals, and the sensational talent he has displayed all season, that made him a very, very popular choice.”

Suarez beat off competition from his club captain, Steven Gerrard who finished second and Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure who came third.

Suarez will receive the award at the Lancaster London Hotel on May 15 before leaving for World Cup duty with Uruguay.


Follow @footyscene1